A history in minutes

In the reception of The Soldiers’ Charity headquarters in Victoria, London, you will find six archive books detailing the minutes of every meeting held of the Control Board (now the board of Trustees) from the Charity’s founding in 1944 until 2000.

Take a look at the minutes from the meeting of the first Control Board of the then Army Benevolent Fund, held at Hobart House, London at 3pm on 23rd August 1944.


Field Marshall The Earl of Cavan – Chair

Generals Sir Ronald Adam, Sir Hugh Elles and Sir Harry Knox

Lieutenant Generals Sir Alexander Hood, Sir Geoffrey Howard and Sir Colville Wemyss

Major Generals The Viscount Bridgeman, Sir James Drew, A.L.I. Friend, Sir Evan Gibb, Sir Claude Lairdet and C.W. Norman

Sir Eric Speed and Mr Arthur Brandman


Skip to content